Dr. Esmeralda S. Cunanan, PAEF Executive Director, presents the various Fulbright grants.

The Foreign Service Institute (FSI) hosted an information session on the Fulbright Awards for Filipinos on 10 March 2016 at the Institute’s Carlos P. Romulo School of Diplomacy.

The briefing was attended by FSI and DFA personnel and representatives from other government agencies such as the Senate of the Philippines, Commission on Higher Education, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, National Intelligence Coordinating Agency, and Center for International Trade Expositions and Missions.

The information session was organized in cooperation with the Philippine-American Educational Foundation (PAEF), the Fulbright Commission in the Philippines. It aims to promote international education and exchange between the Philippines and the United States of America. PAEF administers the Fulbright Scholarship program, the Hubert H. Humprey Fellowship Program, and other activities related to international educational exchange.  Founded in 1948, it is also the longest continuously operation Fulbright Commission in the world.

Dr. Esmeralda S. Cunanan, PAEF Executive Director, presented six types of Fulbright grants:

  1. Fulbright Graduate Student Program
  2. Fulbright Senior Scholar Program
  3. Fulbright U.S.–ASEAN Visiting Scholar Program
  4. Fulbright-Philippine Agriculture Scholarship Program (FPASP) for Advanced Research
  5. Foreign Language Teaching Assistants Program (FLTA)
  6. Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program

Deadline of application for the Fulbright Graduate Student Program is on 28 March 2016.  For more information, please visit <www.fulbright.org> or contact the FSI’s Scholarship Programs Section at 834-4637 and 834-3964.

Ms. Feng Villanueva of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas approaches Dr. Cunanan after her presentation to clarify application procedures.
Left to right: Dr. Esmeralda S. Cunanan, PAEF Executive Director; Ms. Sonia D. Diaz, Head of FSI Scholarship Programs Section; Ms. Rhoda R. Acosta, FSI Scholarship Affairs Officer; Ms. Nerissa A. Miranda, FSI Scholarship Programs Section Assistant; and Ms. Susana Lapradez of PAEF.